Darren Leuders Award

Darren Leuders was the Business Development Manager and Deputy Chief Executive Officer the Adelaide Cemeteries Authority for 10 years in.

As a long serving member of CCASA, Darren enthusiastically fulfilled the role of CCASA Secretary and was elected as President for 2007. It was with great sadness that Darren suddenly passed away in October 2007

During his time in the industry Darren consistently demonstrated a passion and a commitment to his role with the Adelaide Cemetery Authority and to serving the industry and the South Australian community.

In recognition of Darren’s service to the cemetery industry, CCASA has created the Darren Leuders Customer Service Award. This award is presented on an annual basis to a person who has demonstrated outstanding commitment and service to a cemetery in South Australia. The recipient must be nominated on a dedicated nomination form provided each year.

2015 Darren Leuders Customer Service Award Recipient – David Manders

The winner of the 2015 Darren Leuders Customer Service Award will receive a trophy plus one free registration, airfares and accommodation to the Australasian Cemeteries and Crematoria Association national annual conference being held from Sunday 25th September to Wednesday 28th September 2016 at the Pan Pacific Hotel in Perth, Westren Australia.

The 2015 Darren Leuders Customer Service Award was presented to David Manders.

David is the current Honorary Curator of Willunga Catholic Parish Cemetery.  This is a volunteer unpaid position that David has held for more 20 years.

David is a very worthy winner as his colleagues and community members note that he makes himself available above and beyond what is required to help families at an emotional stage in their lives.  He is professional and compassionate at all times.

We congratulate David for his efforts in providing this service to families and the community.

With the support of major award sponsor, Phoenix Foundry and with the additional generosity of ACCA, David will attend the ACCA national conference in Perth in September 2016.

Past Darren Leuders Award Winners: 2009 Rob and Jan Heaven (McLaren Vale UCA & Congregational Cemeteries) 2010 Mary Yiambouranis (Centennial Park) 2011 Sue Hocking (Port Augusta City Council) 2012 Amanda Rose (Port August Council) and 2013 Valda Baker-Wells (Light Regional Council).